Home / Japan Professional Baseball / Team Websites

Team Websites

by Trevor Raichura

Click logos below to visit team websites. Links will open in a new window.

Central League

Yokohama DeNA Baystars Logo

Yokohama DeNA Baystars: Founded in 1950, the BayStars have a rich history in Japanese baseball. They were originally known as the Taiyo Whales before undergoing several name changes before becoming the Yokohama DeNA BayStars in 2012. The team’s name, “DeNA,” comes from their corporate sponsor, DeNA Co., Ltd., a major Japanese mobile gaming and e-commerce company.

Hiroshima Toyo Carp LogoHiroshima Toyo Carp: Founded in 1950, the team was originally established as the Hiroshima Carp and later adopted the name “Toyo” in the 1960s, becoming the Hiroshima Toyo Carp. The team’s colors are red and white, and their distinctive logo features a stylized, jumping carp fish.

Chunichi Dragons LogoChunichi Dragons: Founded in 1936, the Dragons have a long and storied legacy in Japanese baseball. They’ve also had their fair share of success, including multiple Central League championships and Japan Series titles.

Tokyo Yomiuri Giants Logo Tokyo Yomiuri Giants: The Giants are one of the most iconic and historically significant baseball teams in Japan. Founded in 1934, the Yomiuri Giants have a storied history and are one of the oldest and most successful baseball teams in Japan. The Giants have a dedicated and passionate fan base, known as the “Kyojin no Hoshi” (Giants’ Stars), who create an electric atmosphere at games.

Tokyo Yakult Swallows Logo

Tokyo Yakult Swallows: Founded in 1950, the Swallows boast some of the best game day atmosphere in NPB. Famous for their umbrella dance choreographed to the team song, the Swallows have a strong following and are a beloved and respected franchise.

Hanshin Tigers Logo

Hanshin Tigers: Founded in 1935, the Hanshin Tigers are the second oldest team in NPB. The Tigers’ fans, known as the “Koshien faithful,” are among the most passionate and vocal in Japanese baseball. They create a festive atmosphere at games with coordinated cheers, songs, and chants. The Tigers’ home ballpark Koshien Stadium is also the site of the annual Notional High School Baseball Championship.

Pacific League

Orix Buffaloes Logo

Orix Buffaloes: In 2004 the Orix BlueWave and Kintetsu Buffaloes merged to form the Orix Buffaloes. The team’s colors are blue and gold, and their mascot is “Buffa-kun,” a friendly buffalo character. Their home ballpark is the Kyocera Dome Osaka, but they also play a handful of home games at Hotto Motto Field in Kobe, which was the former home of the BlueWave.

Tohoku Rakuten Golden Eagles Logo

Tohoku Rakuten Golden Eagles: The Golden Eagles were founded in 2004 when Rakuten, Inc. acquired the franchise rights of the defunct Kintetsu Buffaloes. Initially, they were known as the “Sendai Tohoku Rakuten Golden Eagles,” but the “Sendai” part of their name was later dropped, and they became the Tohoku Rakuten Golden Eagles.

Nippon-Ham Fighters Logo

Nippon-Ham Fighters: The team was originally founded in 1946 as the Tokyu Flyers and was based in Tokyo. However, in 2004, the franchise was purchased by the Hokkaido Nippon-Ham Group, a major Japanese food and meat processing company, and relocated to Sapporo, where they became the Hokkaido Nippon-Ham Fighters. The fighters have boasted top talents like Yu Darvish and Shohei Ohtani.

Fukuoka SoftBank Hawks Logo

Fukuoka SoftBank Hawks: Originally founded in 1938 as the Nankai Hawks and originally based in Osaka. The Hawks relocated to Fukuoka in 1989. The team has undergone several name changes due to sponsorships but has been known as the SoftBank Hawks since 2005, reflecting their corporate sponsor, SoftBank Group Corporation.

Saitama Seibu Lions LogoSaitama Seibu Lions: Originally founded in 1950 as the Nishitetsu Lions and initially based in Fukuoka, the franchise was relocated to Tokorozawa, Saitama, and became the Seibu Lions in 1979. The Lions are the most successful team in the history of the Pacific League.

Chiba Lotte Marines LogoChiba Lotte Marines: The team was originally founded in 1950 as the Mainichi Orions and was based in Tokyo. In 1992, the franchise was moved to Chiba and became the Chiba Lotte Marines. The team’s colors are blue and white, and their main mascot is named “Marines-kun,” a cheerful marine-themed character. However, they have a secondary mascot named Mysterious fish, that was a bit more odd until it was retired in 2021.